Lost Lake Chalet Hawks


LOST LAKE CHALET (Hawks, MI): Sleeps 6, Swimming on property. Gorgeous view, 1 hour from Mackinaw
Bedrooms

3

Baths

2

Sleeps

6

LOST LAKE CHALET
SLEEPS:  6-7
BEDROOMS:  3
BATHROOMS:  2
*LAKEFRONT (Lost Lake)
*SWIMMING ON PROPERTY
*PRIVATE DOCK (across the driveway, directly in front of the cabin)

*SANDY-BOTTOM LAKE (as reported by previous owners)
*SNOWMOBILES/ORVS WELCOME
*LARGER GROUP OPTIONS: Rent the cabin next door (Lost Lake Getaway- pictures/details coming soon) if you need space for another 6 of your closest friends/family


Arriving at the Lodge Lake Chalet, overlooking Lost Lake, head down the driveway with a noticeable incline.  Feel free to park (with your brakes on, of course) alongside the driveway.  The shared (with the cottage next door) driveway extends downward and crosses in the front of the cottage (between the waterfront and the Lost Lake Chalet itself).

From inside the Lost Lake Chalet, you can not easily see moving vehicles, as the cottage is set at a perfect space to focus solely on the gorgeous view of Lost Lake.

This beautiful 3-bedroom, 2-bath cozy (1200 sq. ft.)  cottage is tucked off the main road and directly faces Lost Lake, in Hawks, just outside of Rogers City. While the cottage has the appearance of a chalet with the eaves and stilts facing the lake, it is actually a ranch-style home on the inside. There is not a basement.

Walk up the stairs to the entry of the Lost Lake Chalet.  Entering the home through the foyer, you immediately will see the comfortable kitchen which overlooks the lake. Cooking in front of the lake is soothing with its openness and sense of togetherness.  The kitchen and the living room both overlook the deck, which captures the beauty of the lakefront setting of Lost Lake. 

Next to the Lost Lake Chalet is another vacation rental. If you are concerned about your outside, water's-edge privacy, this may not be the place for you.  The Lodge Lake Getaway is next door and shares a long driveway. Both cottages have their respective parking (marked) in front of or alongside their cottage.

The large deck that is constructed of cedar planking wraps around two-thirds of the home, allowing for spectacular views of the lake. Don't just look at Lost Lake, cross the driveway and jump on in! With a small sandy beach area and sandy-bottom lake, you will enjoy relaxing down by the water. The fire-pit and propane grill will top off your lake house vacation!


Inside the Lost Lake Chalet, enjoy a majestic stone-fireplace, fully-equipped kitchen with all the basic amenities, and comfortable beds! Play board games with the kiddos or grab a cup of Joe and cuddle up to watch a movie. 


Charter fishing is also available in Rogers City, just 12 miles from the Chalet, on Lake Huron. Or, you can travel 10 miles to the gorgeous Ocqueoc Falls area which offers spectacular hiking trails and swimming opportunities. Close to Boyne Mountain, the Alpena to Mackinaw Snowmobile Trail, and the Hike & Bike Trails, there is tons of fun for the whole family all year round.

As an extra layer of security, we do have video cameras in the back and front of the cottage. There are no cameras inside the cottage.


 


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
 


Air Conditioning:  A portable air conditioning unit can be found in the chalet along with many ceiling fans throughout the home.


ATV's: YES, they are allowed! However, no driving on the lawn…only on the driveway. There are ORV trails nearby, just 15 minutes away and if you are savvy, you are able to take the back roads to get there.
 


Animals:  Deer, bald eagles, variety of birds, squirrels. The basics for Michigan!


Bathrooms:


     Bathroom #1: Connected to master bedroom--Full bath with jet-tub


     Bathroom #2: Full-bath with stand-up shower only. 
 


Beach/Swimming: **NEW PHOTOS COMING AS SOON AS SNOW/ICE MELTS. It is a sandy bottom lake. Lost Lake, at its deepest, is 17 feet. By the property there is a very shallow drop off, so it is great for small kids. Lost Lake is considered an all-sports lake, but boats generally do not come in close. The swimming area is laid out as such: Grass, to 20 feet of sand, to sandy-bottom lake. 


Bedroom Configuration:
                    Master Bedroom: Queen


                    Bedroom #2: 2-twins (We can convert the twin beds into a King bed. Just ask.)


           Bedroom #3: 2 -twins
    
           Sleeping Porch: CLOSED IN THE WINTER --Daybed with trundle---in summer only 


Boat: One paddle boat and one canoe is available for your enjoyment. Please bring life jackets from home (as those are not one size fits all)


Boat Launch: Within a mile of the chalet, you can find the Lost Lake Boat Launch which is right across the lake.  


Bugs: Typical Michigan bugs- Mosquitoes love waterfront cottages! Escape to the sun room in the evenings.


Cell phone service: AT&T=nonexistent. You can do wi-fi calling once you are connected to the wi-fi system.
 


Distances:
              * Boyne Mountain: 1 hour 18 minutes away (67 miles)
              * Mount Pleasant: 2 hours and 42 minutes away (168 miles)
              * Traverse City: 2 hours 22 minutes away (125 miles)               
              * Tahquamenon Falls: 2 hours and 43 minutes (144 miles) 
              * Mackinac Bridge: 1 hour and 12 minutes away ( 62 miles)

Dock: There is a 32 foot private dock that you are welcome to use. Feel free to launch your boat on the other side of the lake and dock it right outside the Chalet! (Dock is pulled for winter around the first weekend in October)


Fire-pit: Yes! Guests need to supply their own wood.


Fireplace:  Yes, inside enjoy a natural gas fireplace in the family room (creates a wonderful peaceful, cozy atmosphere!). Does not have a blower.


Fishing: Crappie, Bass, and Northern Pike are flowing in Lost Lake!


Fishing License: You can purchase your fishing license online at http://www.mdnr-elicense.com/Welcome/Default.aspx
 


Fishing poles: Please bring your own pole. Little kids’ poles may be available.
 


Grill: There is a propane grill onsite. Propane is provided.
 


Grocery Store:  15 minutes in Rogers City.



Internet:  Not yet, but hopefully soon.

Lake: This in NOT an all sports lake.  Fishing boats with small motors and pontoon boats are allowed.  Jet skis and ski boats are NOT allowed.

Linens: Yes, we provide your sheets and linens. Just like a hotel, the beds will be made for you upon arrival. If you are fussy about the thread count of your sheets, just let me know, and I’ll make sure we leave a bed open for your sheets. We have just the basic sheets, pillows, pillow cases and bath towels.

Parking: The driveway is on a hill and at the end of the hill you can park in front of the chalet. This driveway is also shared by the cottage next door (Lost Lake Getaway) as well, so you may encounter a few cars crossing in front of the Chalet, as they head to cottage next door. Two cars easily or truck/trailer combo. Guests will park in front of chalet on driveway. The driveway also extends past the Lost Lake Chalet to the cottage next door, known as the Lost Lake Getaway. Your cars/trucks/trailers/ATVs/boats/snowmobiles must not block the driveway.

Pets:  Pets are not allowed on this property. Please enjoy the allergen free home.

Privacy: On the northern side of Lost Lake Chalet, there is the Lost Lake Getaway (which sleeps 6 people). On the southern side, the other cottages are not easily visible. This is not a place if you are looking for a guarantee of exterior privacy for your family.  While the cottages are not on top of each other, as the cottages are in some more popular tourist areas in Michigan, yet they are within 20 feet. There are not any fences which delineate the spaces. Still, our expectations are that of a good neighbor policy. 


Snowmobiles: YES! Snowmobiles are welcomed. There are some terrific trails just 5 minutes from the Chalet---either cross the frozen lake in winter or jot down a county road. You are able to park your trailer and drive your snowmobile from the front door if conditions allow. Snowmobiling on county roads is legal here!  


Space: Nice, modern, log cabin interior ranch-style home which appears to be an exterior chalet.


Televisions: Basic Direct TV package with 1 TV in living room. It has a vhs/dvd player connected to it.  A Red Box, where you can rent DVDs, is available in Rogers city.


Towels: Yes, we provide basic bathroom towels. Please bring your own beach towels. There is a washer/dryer you may use during your stay.

Washer and dryer:  Yes, guests are open to using the stack-able washer and dryer. Laundry soap is provided.  

Wood: Guests will need to purchase wood either at the grocery in Rogers City or on their way up to the Chalet along the side of the road. 

 


Amenities

Property/indoor Amenities
  • Acreage
  • Air conditioner unit (window or portable unit)
  • Fireplace- gas
  • Basic paper products included.
  • Cable- Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • VHS player
  • Ceiling fans
  • Linens & towels included
  • Log Cabin
  • Internet/ WI FI
  • Washer & dryer
  • Heat type: furnace
  • Board Games
  • Radio/CD Player
  • Books
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Basic paper products included
  • Smoke Detectors
Kitchen Amenities
  • Blender
  • Coffee maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Standard kitchenware & utensils
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Keurig---bring your own K-cups
Outdoor Amenities
  • Kayak included
  • Fire pit
  • Canoe or Kayak included
  • Sandy Beach
  • Snowmobile from property
  • Swimming on property
  • Paddle boat included
  • Patio chairs
  • Deck/patio
  • Private boat dock
  • Picnic table
  • grill-propane
Special Features
  • ATV allowed

SeasonPeriodMin.StayNightlyWeekly
11/01/2019 - 12/31/20202$150.00

Reviews

5 stars
The cabin was beautiful. The fireplace blower motor did not work, other wise everything was excellent.

Freshwater Vacation Rentals Response
Jonathon, we are glad that you enjoyed staying at Lost Lake Chalet.  It has a gorgeous view of Lost Lake and sleeps 6.  Snowmobiles and ORVs are welcome, and after being outside guests can sit by the amazing fireplace to warm up.  Thanks for letting us know about the fireplace - we'll get that fixed.  We'd love to work with you again.
 
Jonathon
Nov 2019
Beautiful
Everything was excellent except the fireplace blower and motor did not work.

FVR response:
Jonathon, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lost Lake Chalet.   It sleeps 6 and if you have a larger group you can rent the cottage next door that also sleeps 6.  Inside the Lost Lake Chalet, enjoy a majestic stone-fireplace, fully-equipped kitchen with all the basic amenities, and comfortable beds.  We apologize that you had issues with the fireplace.  We will get that fixed immediately.  In the future , when you rent from us, if you ever have issues such as this, let us know and we will get someone in to fix it right away.  We hope to work with you again.
Jonathon
Nov 2019
Fall Weekend on Lost Lake
Such a beautiful view of Lost Lake and the fall colors! Our chalet/cabin was quite nice. Most kitchen utensils provided (But, there were no steak knives, baking sheet, or strainer for meal preps. We worked around them.) We suggest bringing gallon jugs of water to make coffee and for cooking. Overall, the accommodations were very good and we enjoyed our extended weekend stay.


Freshwater Vacation Rentals Response
Michele, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed Lost Lake Chalet.  Fall is a gorgeous time to be there.  It sleeps 6-7, and guests are welcome to bring their snowmobiles and ORVs.  There is a great deck for morning coffee.  We'd love to have you back again.
Michele
Oct 2019
Wonderful Weekend Retreat
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lost Lake Chalet. The house was clean and cozy. The open floor plan and barrier free entrance made it easy for our daughter that is wheelchair bound to enjoy the space with us. Just about anyone that can not navigate steps would be able to enter the home from the screen porch or deck to enjoy the cabin and beautiful view of the lake. The driveway is a pretty steep incline so getting her to the beach was tough but we did do it. The lake is so nice!!! We loved that fast boats and jet skis arent allowed on the lake. Because its quiet, we enjoyed the wildlife - a loon entertained us every day. Docking the boat for my son to fish at his leisure was perfect. The beach and fire pit area were great. The neighbors to one side are very, very close and share the driveway. With our 2 vehicles and a boat, parking was tight. It was probably harder on the neighbor than us because they had to go by us to get in/out. Overall, our experience was so awesome that we didnt want to leave. We would love to go back.

Freshwater Vacation Rentals Response
Sarah, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.  Anytime a guest says their time was awesome, we know we have succeeded.  We hope to come back to Lost Lake Chalet.
Sarah
Sep 2019
Loved the Lost Lake Chalet!
We loved our stay at the lost lake!!! The property was well represented in the pictures and the view onto the lake is magical! The property was clean and well taken care of. We would love to come back!

Freshwater Vacation Rentals Response
Amy, it so good to hear that you loved Lost Lake Chalet!  With a deck that wraps around 2/3 of the house, it's a pleasure to sit outside and enjoy the fabulous lake views.  There is fishing, hiking, swimming, biking - it's all there for your enjoyment!  We do hope that you come again.
Amy
Aug 2019
Great weekend getaway!
My family and I thought the Chalet was fantastic! We had a wonderful time swimming, kayaking, canoeing and pedal boating on Lost Lake. Chalet was clean and the pictures described the house perfectly. If you come up, be sure not to miss Ocqueoc Falls or a trip da UP!!!
Brian
Aug 2019
5 stars
This was an excellent vacation rental! Great property with plenty of space even with the shared driveway and lot... Tons of things to keep the kids busy! Only request would be central air and possibly more sand added to the water in the beach area; it gets pretty mucky about half way down the dock....

Freshwater Vacation Rentals Response
Brook, we are so happy that you found Lost Lake Chalet to be  an excellent vacation rental.  The property has amazing views that can be viewed from the deck that goes around  two-thirds of the home,and it is only 1 hour from Mackinaw Island.  Inside you will find a large stone fireplace for cool evenings.  There is a paddle boat and a canoe for the guests to use.  We will let the owners know about your suggestions.  We hope to see you back again
Brook
Jul 2019
Lost Lake Chalet
Wife and I enjoyed this mini-nirvana so much. Thanks for renting it to us!

Freshwater Vacation Rentals Response
William, we love your description of Lost Lake Chalet as a mini-nirvana.  How perfect.  There is a large deck that is constructed of cedar planking that wraps around two-thirds of the home, allowing for spectacular views of the lake.  It also has a fabulous fireplace in case the mornings or evening get cool.  You can see deer, bald eagles, and a variety of birds during your stay.  A  mini-nirvana indeed!
William
Jul 2019
Awesome stay!
Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation! We will be back!:)

FRESHWATER RESPONSE:
Sora, the best thing you could say is that you want to come back!  Lost Lake Chalet is set at a perfect space to focus solely on the gorgeous view of Lost Lake. A deck wraps around two-thirds of the home and it has a majestic stone-fireplace inside.  One paddle boat and one canoe is available for your enjoyment.  The perfect summer vacation spot.
Sora
Jul 2019
Amazing
What a perfect getaway for my family. The house was perfect and the grounds were well kept. The beach and swimming area were perfect for young children. We spent a lot of time on the deck and it was the perfect spot. Great getaway

FRESHWATER RESPONSE:
Matt, it is great to hear that Lost Lake Chalet worked out so well for you and your family.  It certainly does have a gorgeous view of Lost Lake, and the sandy bottom of the lake makes for great swimming.  We'll look forward to your return!

 
Matt
Jun 2019
Such a wonderful and peaceful place.

FRESHWATER RESPONSE:
Cynthia, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lost Lake Chalet.  It is a gorgeous property with windows across the front of the lodge for you viewing of Lost Lake.  The lake has a sandy bottom, and by the property there is a very shallow drop off, so it is great for small kids.  we hope to come back again!
Cynthia
Jun 2019
Love Lost Lake Chalet!
My husband and I just loved it there! It was so quiet and peaceful! The sun hits just right in the living room for an afternoon nap! Will most definitely be back!


FRESHWATER RESPONSE:
Kristine, we are so happy that Lost Lake Chalet worked out well for you.  Given that the lake is not an all sports lake, this is a quiet property, making it easy to relax.  We look forward to your return!
Kristine
May 2019

Write a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Click to View Map